Background

It seems like yesterday, but 10 years have already passed since September 17, 2006. StraLugano made its debut that day with 630 athletes and now with the 2016 event attracting over 5000 runners, an amazing dream has come true.

A goal which acts as an incentive and which encourages the entire organising team – headed up once more by Vanni Merzari – to double down and achieve new, even more fantastic goals.

The decision to organise a half marathon in Lugano was new and exciting and was inspired by the need to make StraLugano even more professional and capable of attracting runners both from Switzerland and abroad.

As confirmation of StraLugano’s big heart, we then created a new non-competitive race (alongside the classic 10 km race) so as to involve the whole population and to support associations in the Charity Programme. A 5 km run which is accessible to everybody and which provides the opportunity to go running with friends, to take up a personal challenge or, for companies, to spend a Saturday evening in the company of colleagues.

We are sure you will have a great time!!!

schermata-2016-12-23-alle-20-57-11

Cela semble hier et pourtant 10 années sont passées depuis le 17 septembre 2006. Ce jour là, la Stralugano débutait avec 630 athlètes et aujourd’hui ce serait un beau rêve de pouvoir dépasser les 5000 modistes de l’édition 2016.

Un objectif qui sert de moteur et stimule tout le comité organisateur – bien-sûr sous l’égide de Vanni Merazzi – afin de s’impliquer au maximum afin de rejoindre de nouveaux objectifs toujours plus surprenants.

Le choix d’organiser un semi-marathon à Lugano à été la grande nouveauté née de la volonté de rendre la Stralugano encore plus professionnelle et capable d’attirer des coureurs de Suisse interne et pas seulement.

Et comme le confirme le grand coeur de la Stralugano, nous avons créé une nouvelle course non compétitive (pour aller de pair avec la 10Km) afin de motiver l’ensemble de la population pour soutenir les associations locales du Charity Program. Une 5Km accessible à tous et qui devient l’occasion de courir ensembles, de se défier entre ami ou pour les sociétés, de passer un samedi entre collègues.

En espérant que tout cela vous plaise !!!